Last Updated: Nov 14, 2013
When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Dewey Decimal Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.
910 Geography & travel
930 History of ancient world
940 General history of Europe
950 General history of Asia
960 General history of Africa
970 General history of North America
980 General history of South America
990 General history of other areas
Search for Journals is a tool that helps patrons determine whether a particular publication is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's online subscriptions. Online journals may be browsed or searched for articles. Print subscriptions are found in the Library's catalog.
List of Global Studies web resources. Click the link to find more or use the tab at the top of the page.
- BBC News - Country Profiles
This website provides a guide to the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and the background of key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- Central Bank Websites
Search by country for links to its central bank.
- Country Information for Travel
Provides information on every country in the world and the locations of the United States embassies and consular offices, if you need a visa, crime and security information, health and medical conditions, drug penalties and localized hot spots.
- Country Reports
The website contains country overviews and links to websites from individual countries.
- Country Studies
This website provides online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.
- Cultural Studies Resources
The University of Iowa Department of Communications Studies has compiled this index of cultural studies resources.
- CultureLink Network
An objective of Culturelink Network is the development of a world-wide information system for the study of cultural development and cooperation.
This guide to global information is based in the United Kingdom and focuses on environmental issues.
- Foreign Labor Statistics
The United States Bureau of Labor Statistics compiled a database of foreign labor statistics.
- GeoHive: Global Statistics
The site offers statistics about the human population.
- Global Edge
This website from Michigan State University provides information, insights and learning resources on global business activities. Search by country.
- Governments on the WWW
This website contains links to government websites throughout the world.
The website is maintained by the United Nations and contains world statistical information.
- Institute of Global Cultural Studies
The Institute of Global Cultural Studies is located at the State University of New York's Binghamton campus. The Institute develops multi-disciplinary approaches to the study of culture and cultural influences across societies in the contemporary world.
- International Monetary Fund - Country Information
IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- International Statistical Agencies
A listing of statistical agencies by country.
- Law Library of Congress Research Page on Nations
Provides general information, legal guides and legislative, executive, judicial and constitutional information about nations.
- Nations Online
The mission of this site is to improve cross-cultural understanding and international awareness through global information.
- Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau has been informing people about the population dimensions of important social, economic and political issues for more than 70 years.
- The Electronic Embassy
This page provides links to the Foreign Embassies of Washington D.C. Select a country and find information on conducting business locally, in addition to data about government, trade, unemployment, imports, exports, economic indicators, travel and more.
- UNICEF - Country Information
- United Nations
The website of the United Nations contains links to global statistics and information pertinent to its mission.
- World Health Organization - Country Information
The WHO provides country specific information on diseases and health promotion, including mortality, morbidity and risk factors.
- World Rulers
The website is a directory of world rulers and identifies leaders in each of the indexed countries.